I know you are but what am I? Same thing.

“Whenever I hear of the state that some other man is in, I waste no time over that but immediately turn my eyes on to myself to see how I am doing. Everything which touches him touches me too. What has happened to him is a warning and an alert coming from the same quarter. Every day, every hour, we say things about others which ought more properly to be addressed to ourselves if only we had learned to turn our thoughts inward as well as widely outward.” – Michel De Montaigne

This was pulled from an essay of his called On the affection of fathers for their children. Now, I’m sure someone could correct me in my use and understanding of this quote, but I chose this specifically for the following string of words, “…we say things about others which ought more properly to be addressed to ourselves…”  It’s something I can relate to and I’m sure many others as well.
I catch myself in this trap from time to time, unknowingly critiquing/criticizing another, when it is myself I should mind. For example, you’ve probably heard people express, yourself included, their frustration with the comment, people are stupid. Sometimes it happens, but I’m a person who is part of the people. Therefore, this must mean I’m stupid.
Criticisms given can be equally returned. Similar to the Beatles lyric, “and in the end, the love you take
Is equal to the love you make.”
On a lighter note, one less taxing on my little mind, I cut my fingernails today. I succumbed to what I was postponing. I had a soccer practice this morning so I figured short nails mean no accidents. And by accident, I mean injury, which of course I mean, I won’t break a nail… Yes, I know what that sounds like, but I could have broken a nail gouging one’s eye out.
Anyways, since I’ve paid close attention to my hands, I’ve left my feet untouched. Thus, continuing the growth of these funky toenails. I would like to say that other people are dirty, but who am I to talk.

Leave a Reply

