Designer traits: contrasting my strength against my weakness

We all have them, strengths and weakness of a particular nature. Through my academic career, specifically dealing with graphic design, I’ve gained strengths and discovered weaknesses I was unaware I had. The following images is brainstorming of a project I did a couple years ago. I was asked to pick an item and portray it in 40 ways. I misinterpreted the project because it was meant more for 40 various illustration styles. Instead, I took a pre-existing object, in my case a clothing iron, and shaped it to fit other utilities and/or personalities. Aside from the bit of a mix-up, I did extremely well on the project because the teach thoroughly enjoyed my direction of thinking. So that’s where I thought to myself, I should embrace my approach. Now on the same project, my teacher noted that I lacked variety of artistic styles as well as detail in my illustrations. That was, and still is, a weakness I’ve had my whole life, my lack of ability in technical execution in mock-ups and illustrations. It is especially frustrating now, I’m 2nd year Graphic Design student, and I’m expected to produce high quality projects. Although, I must admit, my illustrations are improving, so that’s a step in the right direction.

So the grouping of images are ideas for the forms or personalities that a clothing iron could assume. I had the most fun trying to create a personality for an inanimate object. There are a lot of different uses for a clothing iron, but I don’t really have all the time to list them. This proved to me that I could utilize my approach to better complete any future projects. Or just having another way to pass the time.

I’m content with the interactivity amongst all the irons. One the outer rim the irons turn in a clockwise manner, creating a sort of moving boarder. Now each square, following the outer rim have things in opposition to them directly across from them. Columns 2 and 7 are all modes of transportation. Columns 3 and 6 are animals. As for columns 4 and 5, I did as miscellaneous. I’m okay with the illustration style, or lack there of, but I do see that it is a weakness of mine.

IMG_6027

Leave a Reply

