Brainstorming about Nothing

In a recent post, I mentioned the Project of Packaging Nothing and how I would monitor my progress. Well here is another snippet of work done for this project.

So yesterday in class we had a gentleman named Brock, who comes from a design solutions company, and he came in to help our class better define the approach to this very open project. Since his professional job is to come up with creative solutions for design problems, an example being traffic flow within a store and how does one direct people? With his friendly demeanor and enthusiastic personality, he was able to stir within our heads, questions that asked more questions, that essentially lead us in different directions of perception. His task was to enlighten us that something as broad as, “what is nothing,” can be answered, if not condensed, when one acquires as much information as possible.

The main thing I got out of the session with him was lots of research, of all perspectives and sides and ways, is key when designing for a solution that will work. So for example, I did not think of this, but for me, my nothing, or intangible, is light. I explained my choosing, he said great but who’s going to buy it and who’s going to make it? I had no idea. Now I’m thinking of it a bit more about what he said, but I found that the little bit time he spent in our class, turned out to be very useful.

Leave a Reply

